Wrapped in Prayer and Ready to Roll

When I moved to Ohio my church in Avon, Indiana presented me with a prayer blanket. During the end of my seminary studies and while I waited for a full-time pastoral appointment, that blanket was a great source of comfort, reminding me that I am loved. On my first Sunday as pastor at Oak Chapel, the congregation gave me a beautifully crocheted white prayer shawl. That, too, has kept me warm on cold days and served as a reminder of God’s love and care. Knowing that I have not been feeling 100%, just before Christmas one of my parishioners made me a plaid flannel blanket to curl up with as I awaited my surgery. Over the last few weeks most of my non-working time has been spent snuggling with that blanket and a heating pad in my recliner as the pain that necessitates tomorrow’s surgery worsened. Last night as I was finishing my final church tasks and preparing for my time away, several church members presented me with another beautiful blanket. This one was knitted and crocheted by a long list of members and includes an embroidered caption, “A group hug from Oak Chapel.” I am grateful for so many expressions of love and care and very much appreciate the prayers of my friends, family and faith communities. Today I nuzzled in the recliner with all of these prayer shawls and blankets, wrapping myself in all those prayers. This surgery has been a long time coming and I’m ready.

Until next time, peace …

This entry was posted in Rambling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wrapped in Prayer and Ready to Roll

  1. Pam Doore says:

    I love the embroidered “Group hug”. What gifts of pray and love!

  2. Prayers for you from afar! I had my hysterectomy when I was 33 due to endometriosis, and afterwards I wondered why I had waited so long – I felt SO much better! Sending you a “virtual hug”. Love, Val

  3. Nancy K. Gardner Shute says:

    Keeping you in prayer. Love you.

Leave a Reply

