Signs of Beauty and Tranquility

Many have already heard that I am being appointed as full-time pastor at the Oak Chapel United Methodist Church in Wooster, Ohio effective July 1. That exciting news will be included in a future blog post. Over the last few days, however, I have been thinking about my move which will take place in just six short weeks. For the last four and a half years, The Methodist Theological School in Ohio has been my home. I was a student for three and a half of those years and have served as the Residence Life Liaison during the last year. The campus is my home – physically and spiritually. I have learned (not just in the classroom) and grown much during my time here, and I will not only miss the community, but I will miss the campus itself. It is a beautiful place! The luscious landscape and the academic architecture simply soothe my spirits and nurture my very soul.

A few weeks ago the Associate Dean at MTSO sent an e-mail advertising the “MTSO Beauty Contest.” Members of the community were encouraged to take pictures of beauty found on campus. As one who has enjoyed photographing the campus during various seasons, I jumped at the opportunity to spend a few hours wandering and taking pictures. Today I compiled a video of some of those photos along with some previous pictures I had taken. Take a peek at the beauty. Give yourself the gift of five minutes of peace and tranquility. Make yourself a cup of tea, sit back and commune with the Divine.

Until next time, peace …

This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Signs of Beauty and Tranquility

  1. Ellen says:

    Hi Robin,
    What a beautiful little tour of MTSO. Thank you! Best of luck with your move.

  2. jean gabl says:

    I know what you mean – I never thought I had any sentimental attachment at all to Beaver College, but on a lark we took the boys there for a walk around campus not long ago, and I got quite emotional. It, too, holds so much beauty and history. But you have such joyous times ahead of you, things you can’t even begin to predict right now. So glad things are moving forward for you.

  3. Dorothy Houpt says:

    Beautiful, Robin. I liked that there were no people wandering thru your photos….just me and God. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Abby says:

    Robin

    This is awesome. And, congrats on your appt. I had not heard yet. I know this is an answer to your prayers.

    Wooster is a nice town. Prob a challenge with the college there and the dying populations in most UMCs.

    You will be awesome at making the church new in creative ways and leading your people to serve the kingdom.

    Be of good courage!
    Abby

Leave a Reply

